CNC-IUPAC: Canadian National Committee for the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry
 
CNC-IUPAC Home
Members
Awards
News
Associates
IUPAC Home
CSC Site
NRC Site
Contact Us
 

CNC-IUPAC Travel Awards for 2018

The Canadian National Committee for IUPAC (CNC-IUPAC) established a program of Travel Awards for young Canadian scientists in 1982. These Awards are financed jointly by the Canadian Society for Chemistry’s Gendron Fund and by CNC-IUPAC’s Company Associates.(www.cnc-iupac.ca)

Criteria: The criteria used in making these Awards include evidence of an independent research program, a publication record of high quality and the ability to attract research funding (internal and external).

Purpose of the Awards: The purpose of these Awards is to help young scientists and engineers (within 10 years of having gained their PhD) who are currently working at a Canadian institution to present a paper at an IUPAC-sponsored conference outside of Canada. A CNC-IUPAC Travel Award may be received only once.

Number of Awards: Since the funds available for these Awards depend on prevailing interest rates, the number made each year varies.

Amount of the Award: Up to $2,500, paid in arrears after travel-expense receipts and a 150-word report on the conference have been received by the Secretary.

How to Apply: There is no application form. Applications should include:

  • a short Curriculum Vitae, such as required by NSERC Form 100;
  • two Letters of Reference, including one from someone not at the applicant’s university, research institution or company;
  • the name and location of the conference or a photocopy of the conference circular.

It is up to the applicant to ensure that his or her request is supported by adequate documentation.

Applications should be submitted as one pdf file to the Chair of the Awards Committee: Professor Mark Workentin at mworkent@uwo.ca. Letters of reference should be sent directly to Prof. Workentin by e-mail. Receipt of applications will be acknowledged by return e-mail; if acknowledgement is not received within a few days, contact Prof. Workentin (by e-mail or telephone 519-661-2111 x 86319).

Eligible Conferences: A list of IUPAC-sponsored conferences for 2018 can be found on the IUPAC web-site (http://www.iupac.org) and also in Chemistry International, the official IUPAC magazine. Awards are made to attend the conference identified in the application, and no changes are allowed.

Deadline for Receipt of Applications: 21 October 2017. Winners will be announced after the December meeting of CNC-IUPAC, and thereafter all enquiries should be directed to the Secretary.

Secretary and Member of CNC-IUPAC:
Dr. Shan Zou
National Research Council of Canada
100 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, ON K1A 0R6
Email: Shan.Zou@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

 

   

 

 

Français

CNC-UICPA - Comité national candien de l'Umion internationale de chimie pure et appliquée
 
CNC-UICPA - Acceuil
Membres
Les prix
Nouvelles
Associés
Site de IUPAC
Site de CSC
Site du CNRC
Contactez-nous
 

Bourses de voyage du CNC-UICPA pour 2018

Le Comité national canadien de l’Union internationale de chimie pure et appliquée (CNC-UICPA) remet des bourses de voyage aux jeunes scientifiques canadiens depuis 1982. Ces bourses sont subventionées par le Fonds Gendron (administré par la Société canadienne de chimie) et par les compagnies associées au CNC-UICPA. (www.cnc-iupac.ca)

Critères : Les critères utilisés pour décerner ces bourses incluent l’existence d’un programme de recherche indépendant, un dossier de publication supérieur, et la capacité d’amasser des fonds de recherche (internes et externes).

Objectif des bourses : L’objectif de ces bourses est de venir en aide aux jeunes scientifiques et ingénieurs, qui sont à moins de 10 ans de l’obtention de leur doctorat et qui travaillent présentement dans une institution canadienne, de présenter leurs travaux lors d’une conférence commanditée par l’UICPA à l’extérieur du Canada. Une bourse de voyage du CNC-UICPA peut être reçu qu'une seule fois.

Nombres de bourses : Puisque les fonds disponibles pour ces bourses dépendent des taux d’intérêt en vigueur, le nombre de bourses varie.

Montant décerné : Jusqu’à 2500$ seront remis aux lauréats lorsque le secrétaire aura reçu les factures des dépenses encourues lors du voyage, accompagnées d’un rapport de 150 mots sur la conférence.

Comment Postuler : Il n’y a pas de formulaire. Les candidats doivent envoyer:

  • un court curriculum vitae, tel que le formulaire 100 du CRSNG;
  • deux lettres de référence, dont une doit provenir d’une autre université, institut de recherche ou entreprise;
  • le nom et le lieu de la conférence, ou une photocopie du dépliant de la conférence.

Il revient au candidat de s’assurer que sa demande soit suffisamment documentée.

Le candidat doit envoyer un dossier pdf de sa demande au président du comité des bourses: Professeur Mark Workentin, à mworkent@uwo.ca. Les lettres de référence devraient être envoyées directement au Prof. Workentin par courier électronique. Un accusé de réception vous sera retourné par courrier électronique; si un accusé de réception ne vous est pas retourné dans les jours suivants, veuillez rejoindre le Prof. Workentin (par courriel ou par téléphone 519-661-2111 x 86319)

Conférences éligibles : Une liste des conférences commanditées par l’UICPA pour le 2018 se trouve sur le site web de l’UICPA (http://www.iupac.org) et est également publiée dans Chemistry International, revue officielle de l’UICPA. Le comité ne permet aucun changement une fois que les gagnants ont été annoncés.

Date limite pour postuler : le 21 octobre 2017. Les gagnants seront annoncés après la réunion du mois de décembre du CNC-UICPA, date après laquelle toute question devrait être adressée au secrétaire de ce comité.

Secrétaire et membre du CNC-UICPA :
Mme
Shan Zou
Cons
eil national de recherches Canada
100, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0R6
Courrier électronique : Shan.Zou@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

 

   

 

 

 

English